Winter

Snow is falling on my hair
and I close my eyes to inhale
deeply, as I walk
the sound of the crushing flakes
forms melodies in my ears
And when I drop down on the grass
with its frozen custard
I meet my little self again
as I create angels in the snow
I see the world peaceful and tender
when I hear children playing
my heart jumps at their innocence
and my eyes create drops of emotion
so I open them
and stare into heaven
where I used to find all my answers
But now all I see is gray
and I wonder
where my blue sky has gone
Because
when I used to build snowmen
and when I rode my sleigh
the world was warm & blue
and never gray

4 thoughts on “Winter

Leave a Reply

