Regrets

My friends showed me a video of you today
I hadn’t seen you in a while
It was so good to see you smile
And yet
Behind your glasses I missed the sparkle
The one your eyes usually create
And while my friends were saddened not to have attended your party
All I saw was the glass of Whisky in your hand
Are you all right, I wondered as my heart began to ache
You looked so lonely in your company of people
So misplaced somehow, isolated, sad
You just sat there, quietly intoxicated until your voice gave you away
But I’m the only one who heard the slur it seems
Who noticed your intonation so clearly change
For you, my ears have always been more pricked, my eyes wide open
Now that’s a secret I have never told you
But seeing you now, I wish I had

Leave a Reply

