In Your Absence

And then last night
they all crushed down on me
my feelings
forced me on my knees
shook me deep
and left me curled up like a ball
lying weeping on the floor
my heart ripped out
my gut wide open
gaping like a wound
still bleeding
Your pull so strong
my love so raw
How was I supposed to know
that you could reach me
oh so deep
uplift and hurt me
kill me sweet
your voice a dagger in my heart
a rose with thorns
my chocolate salted in a cup
A rainbow on my cloudy days
a smile from you
and through my tears
I do feel blessed
and love you more
although my eyes are red and sore
from wanting you so much
to be
my number one priority

Leave a Reply

